Look at You Now

Publisher : Random House

ISBN-13 : 0812998014

Page : 288 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 014 voters

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers—but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls. In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water—a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives—and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world. Praise for Look at You Now “A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale.”—People “A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we’re at our most challenged.”—Good Housekeeping “Searingly honest.”—Family Circle “Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author’s compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy—her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable.”—Publishers Weekly “[Liz] Pryor’s refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty define the rest of her life are both uplifting and inspiring. An unsentimental yet moving coming-of-age memoir.”—Kirkus Reviews “Pryor has vivid memories of her time in the facility, and her straightforward, unvarnished narrative, written as if by her seventeen-year-old self, rings true. Her story is well worth sharing.”—Booklist “I started reading this book thinking it was a compelling, honest, sometimes funny, sometimes poignant look at the world of teenage pregnancy, and knowing it would offer an inside look at the places where girls used to be hidden away until their babies came. I finished it damp-eyed and understanding that Look at You Now is much more than that. It is a story about how family dynamics work. It is about how wrenching it is to give away something born of your flesh, even if you know it’s the right decision. It’s about how much we can learn from people very much different from us. Most of all, it is a subtle, graceful story about how sometimes the worst things in our lives work best to shape our characters into something shining and true, something that will serve us for the rest of our lives.”—Elizabeth Berg, author of The Dream Lover “Liz Pryor’s story is shocking, moving, riveting, and, ultimately, inspiring. She writes like a natural, can balance humor and sorrow perfectly, and in Look at You Now, has written a pitch-perfect memoir.”—Darin Strauss, author of Half a Life

More Books:

Look at You Now
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Liz Pryor
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-28 - Publisher: Random House

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strengt
Gestalt Psychotherapy and Coaching for Relationships
Language: en
Pages: 246
Authors: Philip Brownell
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-01 - Publisher: Routledge

Gestalt Psychotherapy and Coaching for Relationships provides psychotherapists and coaches with a thorough understanding of two-person dynamics and offers pract
Missing/Kissing
Language: en
Pages: 60
Authors: John Patrick Shanley
Categories: Drama
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997 - Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

THE STORIES: MISSING MARISA. Terry and Eli are friends with a woman in common: Marisa. Marisa was Eli's wife. Then she ran off with Terry. Now she has abandoned
Shaman
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Kim Stanley Robinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09-03 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Kim Stanley Robinson, the New York Times bestselling author of science fiction masterworks such as the Mars trilogy and 2312, has, on many occasions, imagined o
Vestavia Hills
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Christian Perego
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-03-25 - Publisher: Litres

Robert Red is an aspiring writer. Cynical and disillusioned with life, he lives in Vestavia Hills, a small town in Alabama. Robert is writing the novel that wil
A Not Quite Perfect Family
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Claire Sandy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-06 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Funny, feisty and all-too-true, A Not Quite Perfect Family by Claire Sandy is for anyone who loves their family so much they’d just like a weekend away from t
Selected works of Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-20 - Publisher: Strelbytskyy Multimedia Publishing

Selected works of Fyodor Dostoevsky from the series "Best of the Best" is the book that everyone should read to understand themselves and each other. The author
Social Chemistry
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Marissa King
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-05 - Publisher: Penguin

One of 2021's Most Highly Anticipated New Books—Newsweek One of The 20 Leadership Books to Read in 2020—Adam Grant One of The Best New Wellness Books Hittin
Mother Knows
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Susan Burmeister-Brown
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-04-20 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Ann Beattie, Joyce Carol Oates, Richard Bausch, and twenty-one other celebrated American writers contribute to this moving anthology of fiction, compiled by the
Long, Long Tales from the Russian North
Language: en
Pages: 301
Authors: Jack V. Haney
Categories: Literary Collections
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-03-16 - Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

This volume of folktales from the Far North of European Russia features seventeen works by five narrators of the Russian tale, all recorded in the twentieth cen