Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner)

Publisher : Hachette UK

ISBN-13 : 1841883018

Page : 256 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 018 voters

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death - and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner - an organization that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, 'We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.' Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner-tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful - ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.

More Books:

Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner)
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Michael Hebb
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most diffic
Remix Judaism
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Roberta Rosenthal Kwall
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-25 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Remix Judaism: Preserving Tradition in a Diverse World offers an eloquent and thoughtful new vision for all Jews seeking a sense of belonging in a changing worl
Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner)
Language: en
Pages: 165
Authors: Michael Hebb
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018 - Publisher:

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult
Family Communication at the End of Life
Language: en
Pages: 164
Authors: Maureen P. Keeley
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-23 - Publisher: MDPI

This book is a printed edition of the Special Issue "Family Communication at the End of Life" that was published in Behavioral Sciences
Preaching to People in Pain
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Matthew D. Kim
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-18 - Publisher: Baker Academic

Offering an important corrective to a pain-averse culture that celebrates individualism and success, experienced preacher and teacher Matthew Kim encourages pas
Awakened by Death
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Christiana N. Peterson
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-27 - Publisher: Broadleaf Books

Fear of death is nearly as inevitable as death itself, so we have used modern medicine and the funeral industry to create an ever-increasing distance between us
Making Tough Decisions about End-of-Life Care in Dementia
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Anne Kenny
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-03 - Publisher: JHU Press

Making Tough Decisions about End-of-Life Care in Dementia is a lifeline, an invaluable guide to assist in the late stage of dementia.
Seldom Familiar
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: Rob Duford
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-08-01 - Publisher: Xulon Press

Duford awakens readers from a survival mentality and deliberately guides them through a biblical path where the result is true life. He examines life outside of
Mortal Dilemmas
Language: en
Pages: 149
Authors: Donald Joralemon
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-16 - Publisher: Routledge

Anthropologist Donald Joralemon asks whether America is really, as many scholars claim, a death-denying culture that prefers to quarantine the sick in hospitals
Let's Talk About Your Health: a Biblically Based Approach
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Glenda F. Hodges
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-04-29 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

Have you ever experienced difficulty initiating an encounter with someone who was physically challenged, chronically or terminally ill? Have you ever wished tha